Print This Post Print This Post


The New News would not have been possible without the support of those 
who lent their time, energy, and expertise to its creation. In particular, we would 
like to thank the many new journalists whose insights and candid responses to 
the survey we administered are at the heart of this report, as well as the 
nonprofit leaders who attended the focus group sessions.

We also would like to thank the Advisory Committee convened by the The 
Chicago Community Trust to help us plan and review our findings. The Committee 
met once in March 2009 and again in May 2009. Its members included:
Patrick Barry, LISC-New Communities Program
Charles Benton, Benton Foundation
Kara Carrell, Interfaith Youth Core
Thom Clark, Community Media Workshop
Sally Duros, Journalist
Steve Edwards, Chicago Public Radio
Frank Edwards, Chi-Town Daily News
Monica Garreton Chavez, Logan Square Neighborhood Association
Mark Hallett, McCormick Foundation
Kathy Im, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Licia Knight, One Economy
Ngoan Le, The Chicago Community Trust
Alden Loury, The Chicago Reporter
Michael Maranda, Association for Community Networking
Justin Massa,
Gordon Mayer, Community Media Workshop
VJ Mcleer, WTTW public television
Bruce Montgomery, Technology Access Television
Andy Mooney, Local Initiatives Support Corporation
Greg Sanders, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Ernest Sanders, Greater Auburn Gresham Development Corporation
Kathy Tholin, Center for Neighborhood Technology
Nicol Turner-Lee, One Economy
Vivian Vahlberg, Journalist
Gordon Walek, Local Initiatives Support Corporation

Also contributing to the committee were key staff members of The Chicago Community Trust: Tom Irvine, Vice President for Information Technology, Elizabeth (Libbet) Richter, 
Vice President for External Relations, and Kate Allgeier, Eva Penar and Simone Weil.

Category: About


Don't see your favorite online news website?
Submit an online news site

Mailing Address:
Community Media Workshop
at Columbia College Chicago
600 S. Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605

Walk-in Address:
218 S. Wabash, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60605

Tel: 312-369-6400
Fax: 312-369-6404

Follow on @npcommunicator