Thank you to all who joined us in our 24th Anniversary Studs Terkel Community Media Awards Benefit!

L to R: Thom Clark, Fernando Diaz, Megan Cottrell, Dave Hoekstra, Lorne Clarkson. (photo by Olga Lopez)

It was a night to remember. A hearty thank you to everyone who attended and lent their support, March 14, as Community Media Workshop once again honored media professionals, who like Studs Terkel, bring the voices of ordinary people to mainstream attention.

“Their work makes a difference. Their work opens eyes and hearts,” blogged Chicago Sun-Times staff writer Dave Hoekstra about the work of fellow 2013 Terkel Award winners, Megan Cottrell and Fernando Diaz.

Presented annually since 1994, the Studs Terkel Media Awards honor outstanding media professionals for excellence in covering and reflecting Chicago’s diverse communities. Terkel Awards highlight reporters who take risks in covering social issues by offering new or unusual perspectives on topics of general concern, from housing to neighborhood safety and beyond. The awards reward a body of work rather than a single article or series, and go to journalists at any stage of their career.

Missed the event? Read Hoekstra’s beautifully-crafted acceptance speech, and keep  your eyes peeled for more information on next year’s 25th Anniversary event, it’s one you don’t want to miss. Pictures from the 2013 bash coming soon!


Print This Article Print This Article

Category: Events, Studs Terkel Community Media Awards


Comments are closed.