Print This Post Print This Post

What about the 
mainstream media?

Our purpose was not to examine the largest online news publications in the Chicago area. In fact, we biased our investigation toward small and innovative online news sites. Had we included local print and broadcast home pages, these would likely have occupied many of the top 25 to top 30 slots in our rankings. For reference, here are 15 of those sites with their Alexa traffic rank, where available:

URL

Alexa rank

Chicago Tribune

www.chicagotribune.com

1,087

Chicago Sun-Times

www.suntimes.com

2,410

Chicago Breaking News Center

www.chicagobreakingnews.com/blog/

13,835

Daily Herald

www.dailyherald.com

17,722

WBBM-TV

www.cbs2chicago.com

26,956

WMAQ-TV

www.nbcchicago.com/news

29,191

SouthtownStar

www.southtownstar.com

54,457

WBBM-AM

www.wbbm780.com

65,014

WFLD-TV

www.myfoxchicago.com

78,777

WGN-AM

www.wgnradio.com

138,279

WLS-AM

www.wlsam.com

142,905

WTTW-TV/
Chicago Tonight

www.wttw.com/main.taf?p=1,4

233,630

WLS-TV

abclocal.go.com/wls/index

NA (subdomain of go.com)

WGN-TV

www.wgntv.com

NA (subdomain of tribune.com)

CLTV

www.cltv.com

NA (subdomain of tribune.com)


More online news publications

In the course of gathering online news publications, we came across and were impressed by the following but did not get to
survey them for one reason or another:

A Chicago Blog, www.achicagoblog.com

AREA Chicago, www.areachicago.org

Avondale and Logan Square Crime Blotter,
avondalelogansquarecrime.blogspot.com

Broken Heart of Rogers Park, morsehellhole.blogspot.com

Capitol Fax, thecapitolfaxblog.com

Centerstage, www.centerstagechicago.com

Chi-Town Living, www.chitownliving.com

Chicago Boyz, chicagoboyz.net

Chicago Daily Observer, www.cdobs.com

Chicago Gallery News, www.chicagogallerynews.com

Chicago Gangs, chicagogangs.org

Chicago Independent Media Center, chicago.indymedia.org

Chicago Jewish News, chicagojewishnews.com

Chicago Moms Blog,
www.svmomblog.typepad.com/chicago_moms

Chicago Reader Clout City, blogs.chicagoreader.com/politics

Chicago Tribune Clout Street,
newsblogs.chicagotribune.com/clout_st

Chicago Tribune: Exploring Race,
newsblogs.chicagotribune.com/race

Chicago’s Best Blogs, chicagosbestblogs.com

City of Destiny, cityofdestiny.blogspot.com

CityNews Chicago, www.newschicago.org

Daily Herald Animal Farm, blogs.dailyherald.com/blog/16

Eric Zorn: Change of Subject,
blogs.chicagotribune.com/news_columnists_ezorn

Flying Debris, flyingdebris.blogspot.com

Green Bean Chicago, www.greenbeanchicago.com

Heartland Journal, www.heartlandcafe.com/hj_index.htm

HispanicPro, www.hispanicpro.com

Huffington Post Chicago, www.huffingtonpost.com/chicago

IlliniPundit (Champaign), www.illinipundit.com

Illinoize, capitalfax.blogspot.com

Invisible Institute, invisibleinstitute.com

Local Tourist, www.thelocaltourist.com

Lumpen Times, lumpentimes.blogspot.com

Marshfield Tattler, marshfieldtattler.blogspot.com

Medill Reports, news.medill.northwestern.edu/chicago

Michael Miner: News Bites, blogs.chicagoreader.com/news-bites

Nitty Gritty News, nittygrittynewschicago.com

North Lawndale Community News, www.nlcn.org/web/cms

Pitchfork, www.pitchfork.com

Prairie State Blue, www.prairiestateblue.com

Proximity Magazine, www.proximitymagazine.com

PURE Parents, www.pureparents.org/?blog/category/3

Radio Islam, www.radioislam.com

Radio Tiki, www.radiotiki.com

Second City Cop, secondcitycop.blogspot.com

The Dome, thedome.sj-r.com

The Expired Meter, theexpiredmeter.com

Time Out Chicago, chicago.timeout.com

Today’s Chicago Woman, www.tcwmag.com

Trib Local, triblocal.com

YourStreet, www.yourstreet.com/news/chicago-il

Category: Article, Chapter 2

Tagged:


CONTACT US
Don't see your favorite online news website?
Submit an online news site

Mailing Address:
Community Media Workshop
at Columbia College Chicago
600 S. Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605

Walk-in Address:
218 S. Wabash, 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60605

Tel: 312-369-6400
Fax: 312-369-6404

Website: http://www.communitymediaworkshop.org
E-Mail: cmw@newstips.org
Follow on Twitter.com: @npcommunicator